• 1
  • 1

Bree School logo


Before the formation of the Dept. of Education in 1835 or 1836 schooling was almost non-existent except for a number of—what one called—hedge schools. The Church of Ireland had one in Ballyhogue and one in Ballybuckley beside Clonmore Church (in Ned Long’s house). Mrs. Foley kept a hedge school in Borrmount for small children and one in Ballyhogue in a house owned by the Murphy family of The Racecourse.

Bree’s first school started in the old church down Bree Lane. It was a two-roomed school with a partition in the middle. The first teacher was James Kirwan.

In 1953, a new school was built in Bree. Jonathon Moriarty was the principal at the time and there were 120 children and 3 teachers.

In 1991, due to the increase in the school population to 180 pupils, a new extension was added to the school, comprised of four classrooms. When added to the two existing classrooms (the third existing classroom was converted into a staffroom), the school now had six classrooms in total.

In 2014, four more classrooms were added as part of a new extension.

In 2016, another classroom and a new principal’s office were built.

Number of pupils: 218


  • Mark Kelly

Deputy Principal:

  • Anne O’Dowd

In School Management Team:

  • Catherine Byrne
  • Larry Coffey


  • Essie Morris
  • Marian Breen
  • Caroline Miskella
  • Colm Moore
  • Aileen Laffan
  • Nora Wall
  • Róisín Shannon
  • Aisling Carberry

Special Needs Assistants:

  • Betty White
  • Aidriel Byrne


  • Melissa Dawson


  • Christine Redmond


Board of Management

  • Chairperson: Fr. Michael Byrne
  • Principal: Mark Kelly
  • Secretary: Mark Kelly
  • Treasurer: Damian Smith
  • Teachers’ Nominee: Larry Coffey
  • Parents’ Nominees: Mike Doyle and Bernie O’Leary
  • Patron’s Nominees: Sadie Whelan and Clare Doyle